Prof. Alvarez Wins Kleban Prize for Musical Theatre

Assistant Professor of Music César Alvarez, a composer, lyricist and experimental playwright, was awarded the 32nd annual Kleban Prize for Musical Theatre on Thursday. The estemmed award, named after the Tony- and Pulitzer-winning lyricist of A Chorus Line and selected by a rotating judging panel of distinguished theater artists, declares Prof. Alvarez to be this year's most promising musical theater lyricist. With the award comes a $100,000 cash prize.

Prof. Alvarez and their Kleban co-recipient, Isabella Dawis, who was named the year's most promising librettist, will be honored by the Kleban Foundation in a virtual ceremony streaming for free at Broadway On Demand from Monday, February 21, through Monday, February 28. Tony Award winners Richard Maltby, Jr. and Maury Yeston will host the event, which will feature performances from the two winners.