Kui Dong

Academic Appointments

Professor of Music

Described by newspapers and magazines such as Washington Post, Gramophone International UK, San Francisco Examiner, Charleston Post and Courier, The Boston Intelligencer as “21st-century sensibilities”, “exquisitely… ceaselessly compelling”, “exceptional beauty and imagination”, “ a hybrid sonic labyrinth”, and “beautiful and haunting and thought-provoking,” Kui Dong's music has been performed and commissioned by numerous ensembles and received honors and prizes from a wide spectrum of prestigious institutions, including Central Ballet Group of China, The National Centre for the Performing Arts of ChinaHong Kong’s Phoenix Television Broadcasting Company, Japan’s Public Interest Incorporated Foundation and Fukuyama Arts Foundation, Spain’s Tenerife Symphony Orchestra, UK’s Arditti Quartet, Austria’s Ars Electronica, The Tanglewood Music Center, USA Commissioning Award, The Serge Koussevitzky Music Foundation and Library of Congress, the Fromm Music Foundation at Harvard University, Opera America IDEA Grant, Meet the Composer, ISCM, and ASCAP etc. 

+ View more


603 646 2051
Sudikoff Lab, Room 216
HB 6187




  • B.A. Central Conservatory of Music, Beijing, China
  • M.A. Central Conservatory of Music, Beijing, China
  • D.M.A. Stanford University

Selected Publications

  • "Triliogy for Double Chorus, Music by Kui Dong" Central Conservatory of Music Press, November 2018

    "Mirror" for two pianos (originally titled Minature 5-7) Central Conservatory of Music Press, August, 2018

    "Selected Chamber Music by Kui Dong" Central Conservatory of Music Press, May 2015

  • "Memory/Place" for violin and cello, digital release by Kate Sternberg on https://katestenberg.bandcamp.com/track/memory-place-by-kui-dong

    "Differences within Oneness" for string Quartet, digital release on Other Minds Records

     “Shall We Play? (2013)” for string quartet, piano 4 hands and toy pianos on Grammy Award nominated Sono Luminus Records

  • "Trio" (2012) for two piano and guitar by Kui Dong, Larry Polansky and Christian Wolf on Henceforth

  • Full-length CD “Since When Has The Bright Moon Existed” (2011) Other Mind Record 
+ View more